The AACTE Profile Manager will be locked until mid August while we update our membership database. However, you are still able to make membership dues payments. If you have questions please contact Thank you for your understanding.

Consortium for Research-Based and Equitable Assessments

Consortium for Research-Based and Equitable Assessments

With support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, AACTE has launched the Consortium for Research-Based and Equitable Assessments (CREA), an initiative launched in 2021, to evaluate cut scores for entrance into educator preparation programs. Specifically, the Consortium seeks to examine the processes and considerations that states use to determine cut scores, and how they can be refined to attract, rather than exclude, potential teacher candidates. The Consortium’s responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  1. Completing surveys to report on their state’s practices for establishing cut scores;
  2. Participating in qualitative interviews conducted by AACTE’s consultants;
  3. Actively participating in quarterly meetings to inform recommendations and guidelines for state leaders;
  4. Engaging in pre-work in preparation for quarterly meetings;
  5. Collaborating with state stakeholders during and between quarterly convenings;
  6. Disseminating the Consortium’s final recommendations and model state policies to state leaders and policymakers;
  7. Advocating for equitable practices that will attract diverse teacher candidates into educator preparation programs to address the shortage and diversity crises in the field.

The Consortium is comprised of 14 state teams of educator preparation programs, and state and local education agencies. The participating states and lead EPPs include:

  • California – Cal State University San Bernardino
  • Delaware – Wilmington University
  • South Carolina – Claflin University
  • New Mexico – Western New Mexico University
  • Rhode Island – University of Rhode Island
  • Missouri – Lindenwood University
  • Wisconsin – University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • North Carolina – University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • Minnesota – University of St. Thomas
  • Indiana – Indiana University-Bloomington
  • Ohio – Ohio University
  • Texas – Texas A&M International University/Texas A&M University System
  • Kentucky – University of Louisville
  • Tennessee – University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Future reports and resources developed by the Consortium will be featured on this webpage. To learn more about or to support the work of the Consortium, contact Weade James.