Journal of Teacher Education

The Journal of Teacher Education (JTE), the official journal of AACTE, has been a leading voice in the field of teacher preparation for more than 65 years and is one of the most widely read professional journals in the field. JTE’s five peer-reviewed issues per volume year contain thematic and general interest articles as well as editorials and commentaries. Its content focuses on policy, practice, and research that contribute to teacher preparation as a field of inquiry along numerous themes, including accreditation, assessment and evaluation, extended programs, teacher educators, student teaching, and others.

For details about manuscript submission, subscriptions, and advertising, visit the journal’s web site at Supplemental material such as author interviews and editorial highlights can be found in the “JTE Insider” blog maintained by the editorial team.

Download JTE flyer

About the JTE Editorial Team

In January 2021, AACTE named Texas A&M University’s College of Education and Human Development as the incoming editorial host of the Journal of Teacher Education. The journal is currently led by two coeditors – Chery Craig and Valerie Hill-Jackson. Marilyn Cochran-Smith has graciously accepted a one-year appointment as the editor-in-residence. The team is supported by:


Cheryl Craig

Valerie Hill-Jackson

Editor in Residence

Marilyn Cochran-Smith

Associate Editors

Maria Assuncao Flores

Heidi Hallman

Andrew Kwok

Rafael Lara-Alecio

Lily Orland-Barak

Assistant Editor

Diane Yendol-Hoppey

Ambyr Rios

Co-Managing Editors

Bugrahan Yalvac

John Williams III

Research Assistant

Cassidy Caldwell


Contact the editors by e-mail at and at Journal of Teacher Education, MS 4222, 540 Ross Street, Harrington Tower College of Education and Human Development, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843-4222. E-mail is their preferred method of communication.

JTE Editorial Aims and Scopes

The editors aim to achieve a strategic balance among the areas of preservice and in-service teacher education practice, policy, and research, bringing those areas to bear on one another in challenging and productive ways. They offer a forum for diverse work of teacher education researchers (university and non-university based), teacher education practitioners (e.g., university, state, district, community college), and policy makers at all levels. Linking research and practice is paramount in their vision for the JTE.

The mission of the Journal of Teacher Education, the flagship journal of AACTE, is to serve as a research forum for a diverse group of scholars who are invested in the preparation and continued support of teachers and who can have a significant voice in discussions and decision-making around issues of teacher education. One of the fundamental goals of the journal is the use of evidence from rigorous investigation to identify and address the increasingly complex issues confronting teacher education at the national and global levels. These issues include but are not limited to preparing teachers to effectively address the needs of marginalized youth, their families and communities; program design and impact; selection, recruitment, and retention of teachers from underrepresented groups; local and national policy; accountability; and routes to certification.

JTE does not publish book reviews, program evaluations, or articles solely describing programs, program components, courses, or personal experiences.

JTE Editorial Review Board

  • Trudy Cardinal, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Charalambos Charalambous, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
  • Ruth Chung Wei, Envision Learning Partners, USA
  • Marilyn Cochran-Smith, Boston College, USA
  • Julie Cohen, University of Virginia, USA
  • Christopher Day, University of Nottingham, USA
  • Paige Evans, University of Houston, USA
  • Ralph Ferretti, University of Delaware, USA
  • Nancy Fichtman Dana, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA
  • Janet Gaffney, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Kristin Gansle, Old Dominon University, USA
  • Lynsey Gibbons, Boston University, USA
  • Drew Gitomer, Rutgers University, USA
  • Thomas Good, University of Arizona,USA
  • Gary Henry, University of Delaware, USA
  • Cody Huie, Raise Your Hand Texas, USA
  • Amanda Jansen, University of Delaware, USA
  • Rita Kohli, University of California, Riverside, USA
  • Okhee Lee, New York University, USA
  • Catherine Lewis, Mills College, USA
  • Thomas Luschei, Claremont Graduate University, USA
  • Jennifer Mueller, St. Cloud State University, USA
  • Megan Madigan Peercy, University of Maryland, USA
  • Thomas Philip, University of California, Berkeley
  • Rachel Pinnow, University of Missouri
  • Bethanie Pletcher, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, USA
  • Judi Randi, University of New Haven, USA
  • Rossella Santagata, University of California Irvine, USA
  • Deborah Schussler, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Jessica Singer, Early Arizona State University, USA
  • Peter Smagorinsky, University of Georgia, USA
  • Jennifer Lynn Snow, Boise State University, USA
  • Nathan Stevenson, Kent State University, USA
  • Jeremy Stoddard, College of William and Mary, USA
  • Maria Tatto, Arizona State University, USA
  • Roddy Theobald, American Institutes for Research, USA
  • Katina Thomas, Texas A&M Prairie View University, USA
  • Rebecca West Burns, University of South Florida, USA
  • Karl Wheatley, Cleveland State University, USA
  • Suzanne Wilson, University of Connecticut, USA
  • Theo Wubbels, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Barbara Ybarra, Bryan Independent School District, USA
  • Jemimah Young, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Peter Youngs, University of Virginia, USA