AACTE Announces 2022 National Award Winners

(February 16, 2022, Washington, D.C.) – AACTE (American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education) is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of its annual awards for innovative research, best practice, and exemplary leadership in educator preparation. Through a rigorous selection process, the AACTE Awards Program recognizes excellence in both member institutions and individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of educator preparation.

The following member institutions and individuals will be honored during the AACTE 74th Annual Meeting in New Orleans, La, March 4 – 6.

Outstanding Dissertation Award
Lin Wu, Western Oregon University, “Borderland Teaching of Chinese American Teachers with Mexican American Students: Toward the Development of a Theory” – Learn more

Outstanding Journal of Teacher Education Article Award
“Three Different Measures of Graduates’ Instructional Readiness and the Features of Preservice Preparation That Predict Them,” Matthew Ronfeldt, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; Kavita Kapadia Matsko, Northwestern University; Hillary Greene Nolan, Digital Promise Global; and Michelle Reininger, University of Colorado at Boulder – Learn more

Outstanding Book Award
Letting Go of Literary Whiteness: Anti-racist Literature Instruction for White Students, Carlin Borsheim-Black, Central Michigan University and Sophia Tatiana Sarigianides, Westfield State University – Learn more

Best Practice Award in Support of Global and International Perspectives
University of Missouri – St. Louis, College of Education, Internationalizing Education at UMSL and Beyond – Learn more

Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology
Southeast Missouri State University, College of Education, Health, and Human Studies, EDvolution Model – Learn more

Best Practice Award in Support of Multicultural Education and Diversity
Old Dominion University, Teacher in Residence Program – Learn more

David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teacher Education
Robert E. Floden, University Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus of Michigan State University College of Education – Learn more

Margaret B. Lindsey Award for Distinguished Research in Teacher Education
Shauna Adams, Executive Director, Center for Early Learning; Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, University of Dayton – Learn more

The 26th annual AACTE Awards Program honors member institutions and individuals who have made bold, extraordinary, and innovative contributions to the profession of teacher education.

Lynn M. Gangone, AACTE president and CEO, said, “Congratulations to this year’s award recipients. I applaud you for your dedication to advancing our profession through high-quality programs, practices, research, writing, and promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion for all.”


AACTE: The Leading Voice on Educator Preparation

AACTE (American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education) is a national alliance of educator preparation programs and partners dedicated to high-quality, evidence-based preparation that assures educators are profession-ready as they enter the classroom. The over 650 member institutions and strategic partners include public and private colleges and universities in every state, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands and Guam. Through advocacy and capacity building, AACTE promotes innovation and effective practices that strengthen educator preparation. Learn more at aacte.org.

Planner icon
Events registration icon
Learning Center icon
Membership directory icon
Online community icon
PEDS icon
profile manager icon
Resource Library icon
Submission center icon
Voting system icon