Press Conference by the AACTE Clinical Practice Commission

The preparation of high-quality teacher candidates involves practical experiences in school-based classrooms interwoven with academic coursework to make future teachers profession ready for the 21st century learner. This briefing highlights research-based recommendations, including a shared professional lexicon, for all educators to embrace as a foundation for effectively implementing evidence-based clinical practice. The AACTE Clinical Practice Commission will share its findings on how mutually beneficial partnerships between educator preparation providers and PK-12 can successfully create laboratories of practice for both teacher candidates and practicing teachers, providing continuous improvement for all involved.

Effective clinical practice models are proven means to combat teacher attrition as novice teachers are better prepared for challenges they will face early in their careers, according to a recent study by the Learning Policy Institute. Panelists will discuss the ways in which clinical practice improves student learning, the necessity for governing and funding clinical practice models, and the policy factors important to support the sustainability of clinical practice programs and partnerships.

Commission Members

Susan Adams
Butler University (IN)

Michael Alfano
Central Connecticut State University

Vanessa Anton
Northeastern State University (OK)

Troy Bradbury
Prince George’s County Public Schools (MD)

Lisa Brizendine
Athens State University (AL)

David Cantaffa
SUNY System Administration (NY)

Cynthia Carver
Oakland University (MI)

Donna Cooner
Colorado State University

Nancy Dana
University of Florida

Derek Decker
Colorado State University

Danielle Dennis
University of South Florida

Cindy Diehl-Yang
University of Northern Iowa

Valeisha Ellis
Spelman College (GA)

Diane Fogarty
Loyola Marymount University (CA)

Courtney Glazer
Cameron University (OK)

John Henning
Monmouth University (NJ)

Laurie Henry
University of Kentucky

Lee Hicks
Troy Public Schools (AL)

Marcy Keifer-Kennedy
Ohio University

Shirley Lefever
Wichita State University (KS)

Lynne Mills
Georgia Gwinnett College (GA)

Audra Parker
George Mason University (VA)

Seth Parsons
George Mason University (VA)

Cheryl Redfield
Gilbert School District (AZ)

Debbie Reed
University of North Florida

Jennifer Robinson
Montclair State University (NJ)

Rene Roselle
University of Connecticut

Jennifer Roth
Poudre School District (CO)

Roland Schendel
Metropolitan State University of Denver (CO)

Christy Smith
University at Albany, SUNY (NY)

Lisa Stooksberry
The National Assessment Governing Board (DC)

Cindy Stunkard
Kutztown University (PA)

Vicki Templet
Tulane University (LA)

Jason Wingate
Troy University (AL)

Diane Yendol-Hoppey
University of North Florida

Kristien Zenkov
George Mason University (VA)
Caitlin WilsonCaitlin Wilson
Director of Programs & Professional Learning
Jacqueline RodriguezJacqueline Rodriguez
Assistant Vice President, Programs & Professional Learning

Related Resources

Press Release Announcing AACTE Clinical Practice Task Force
A new task force, supported by the CEEDAR Center, is applying the Clinical Practice Commission frameworks to special education.

Clinical Preparation Blogs
Ed Prep Matters, AACTE’s blog, has a host of clinical practice blogs that range from reports by AACTE members to interviews of top educators putting theory to practice.

Clinical Preparation Videos
Visit AACTE’s Video Wall for interviews, webinars, and more on clinical practice.

Contact: Jerrica Thurman, Director of Marketing and Communications | | 202-478-4502