Board Meeting Resources

View Past Board Meeting Resources

Become a Member!

See what membership with AACTE has to offer and the many benefits available to you.

Learn more


AACTE is governed by a Board of Directors composed of both elected and appointed members, as stipulated in the Association’s bylaws.

The Board of Directors ranges in size from 18 to 25 members, 14 of whom are selected through national elections. Affiliated groups submit nominations for some seats, while others are at-large positions. Presidents and provosts are appointed, rather than elected, to the Board, and three directors are selected by the Advisory Council of State Representatives. In addition, the president/CEO serves on the Board in an ex-officio capacity.

The Board of Directors determines the policies that guide the program of activities of AACTE. It meets at least twice per year, as mandated in the bylaws, to carry out its many functions in connection with the operation and evaluation of the organization’s national program.


Executive Committee Members

Dr. Robert Floden, Chair
Dean, College of Education and University Distinguished Professor
Michigan State University
(2023, At-large)

Dr. Ann Larson, Immediate Past Chair
Special Assistant to the President, P-20 Strategy, Education, Business and Partner Outreach and Professor
University of Louisville
(2022, At-large)

Dr. Michael Dantley, Chair-Elect
Dean, College of Education, Health and Society
Miami University of Ohio
(2024, CADREI)

Dr. Monika Williams Shealey, Secretary
Senior Vice President, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Rowan University
(2023, At-large)

Dr. Patricia Alvarez-McHatton
Vice President of Strategy
Branch Alliance for Educator Diversity (BranchED)
(2022, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities)

Dr. Kimberly-White Smith
Dean, LaFetra College of Education
University of La Verne
(2023, AILACTE)

Dr. Lynn M. Gangone
President and Chief Executive Officer

Affiliate Representatives

Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education (AILACTE)
AILACTE provides an effective voice, as well as a communication and information system, for its member institutions at the national, state, and campus level in matters related to teacher education.

Dr. Jennie M. Carr
Associate Professor of Education
Teacher Education Program
Bridgewater College

Council of Academic Deans from Research Education Institutions (CADREI)
CADREI is an assembly of deans of education from research and land grant institutions throughout North America. Its purpose is the preparation of education personnel in all its phases and the discussion and formulation of plans, policies, and programs to make the member institutions of the Council more effective in their work.

Dr. Gladis Kersaint
Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives
University of Connecticut

Dr. Marvin Lynn
Dean & Professor, College of Education
Portland State University

Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities (TECSCU)
To advance and enhance high quality educator preparation within comprehensive public colleges and universities, TECSCU is a distinct national voice on matters of importance to educator preparation programs at comprehensive public colleges and universities.

Dr. Laurie Mullen
Dean, College of Education
Towson University

Dr. Stacey Edmonson
Dean, College of Education
Sam Houston State University

National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO)
NAFEO is the not-for-profit umbrella organization of the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs). NAFEO represents the presidents and chancellors of the diverse black colleges and universities: public, private and land-grant, two-year, four-year, graduate and professional, historically and predominantly black colleges and universities.

Dr. Kent J. Smith, Jr.
Langston University

At-Large Representatives

Dr. Jacob Easley II
Dean, Graduate School of Education
Touro College

Dr. John Henning
Dean, School of Education
Monmouth University

Dr. Gaëtane Jean-Marie
Dean, College of Education
Rowan University

Dr. Stephanie Knight
Leon Simmons Dean of the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development
Southern Methodist University

Dr. Jesse Perez Mendez
Dean, College of Education
Texas Tech University

Other Representatives

Advisory Council of State Representatives

Dr. John Blackwell
Coordinator of Assessment
Virginia State University

Dr. Kathleen DaBoll-Lavoie
Dean, School of Education
Nazareth College

Dr. Anne Tapp
Saginaw Valley State University

University President/Provost Representatives

Dr. Carine Feyten
Texas Women’s University

Dr. Marquita Grenot-Scheyer
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Educator Preparation and Public School Programs
California State University, Office of the Chancellor

Dr. Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson
Clarion University of Pennsylvania

Staff Contact: Janae Blanscet