AACTE Awards to Recognize Excellence in Educator Preparation

For Immediate Release
Contact: Jerrica Thurman 202-478-4502 or jthurman@aacte.org

(Feb. 1, 2018, Washington, D.C.) – The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) is pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of its annual awards for best practice, professional achievement and writing and research. The following institutions and individuals will be honored during AACTE’s 70th Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, March 1-3:

  • Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology
    Northeastern State UniversityLearn more
  • Best Practice Award in Support of Global and International Perspectives
    Rutgers University Graduate School of EducationLearn more
  • Best Practice Award in Support of Multicultural Education and Diversity
    University of Colorado DenverLearn more
  • Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education
    Stacy K. Duffield, North Dakota State University
    Learn more
  • David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teacher Education
    Jolanda M. Westerhof, American Association of State Colleges and UniversitiesLearn more
  • Outstanding Book Award
    Marcelle Haddix, Syracuse University, Cultivating Racial and Linguistic Diversity in Literacy Teacher Education: Teachers Like MeLearn more
  • Outstanding Journal of Teacher Education Article Award
    Claire Sinnema, Frauke Meyer, and Graeme Aitken, University of Auckland (New Zealand), “Capturing the Complex, Situated, and Active Nature of Teaching Through Inquiry-Oriented Standards for Teaching”
    Learn more
  • Outstanding Dissertation Award
    Molly Baustien Siuty, Portland State University, (Re)constituting Teacher Identity for Inclusion in Urban Schools: A Process of Reification and Resistance(completed at the University of Kansas under the advisement of Professor Elizabeth Kozleski) – Learn more

“The AACTE award winners are outstanding exemplars from the field,” said Lynn M. Gangone, president and CEO of AACTE. “As the leading voice in educator preparation, AACTE champions the excellence embodied by these award winners for all programs and scholarship. This excellence translates into superb member value for all those who attend the AACTE Annual Meeting, and beyond. I look forward to celebrating with our winners at the 70th Annual Meeting next month.”

The AACTE awards program annually recognizes excellence in both member institutions and individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of educator preparation. By honoring notable programs and practices, professional accomplishments and scholarship, these awards encourage AACTE members to strengthen the profession through innovation, leadership and inquiry.


AACTE: The Leading Voice on Educator Preparation

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education is a national alliance of educator preparation programs dedicated to high-quality, evidence-based preparation that assures educators are profession-ready as they enter the classroom. The 800 member institutions include public and private colleges and universities in every state, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands and Guam. Through advocacy and capacity building, AACTE promotes innovation and effective practices that strengthen educator preparation. Learn more at www.aacte.org.

Planner icon
Events registration icon
Learning Center icon
Membership directory icon
Online community icon
PEDS icon
profile manager icon
Resource Library icon
Submission center icon
Voting system icon