Holmes Program

Governance & History

Holmes Program Governance

An elected Holmes Council provides a formal structure for maintenance of the AACTE Holmes Program. The following members were elected to the Council for 2018-2019:

  • President: Dana Dunwoody, Boston University
  • Vice President: Carlos Richardson, Bowie State University
  • Secretary: Marquetta Strait, Purdue University
  • Historian: Benita Kluttz-Drye, Rowan University
  • Sergeant at Arms: Priscilla Bell, University of Florida
  • Research Coordinator: Temitope Adeoye, Purdue University
  • Social Media Coordinator: Monique Matute, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • General Alternate: Georgette Richardson, University of Houston
  • General Alternate: Tytianna Wells Smith, University of Louisville
  • Holmes Master’s Representative: Jessica Ferguson, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Holmes Honors Representative: Alex Caston, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Holmes Cadets Representative: Karla Yong, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Holmes Program History

AACTE assumed ownership of the Holmes Scholars Program upon dissolution of the Holmes Partnership in 2010. The Holmes Scholars Program was originally established in 1991 by the Holmes Group (which later evolved into the Holmes Partnership) with the primary goal of establishing equity, diversity, and cultural competence in programs of higher education and PK-12 schools. The program was designed to enrich the scholarly experience and professional training of talented graduate-level students from underrepresented minority backgrounds or students with disabilities pursuing careers in education. Since its inception, more than 600 students have benefited from the program, and more than 200 are now in tenure-track and leadership positions, including AACTE Board members Wanda Blanchett (Rutgers University), Dianne Mark (Coastal Carolina University), and Monika Shealey (Rowan University) and several other education deans including Lora Bailey (New Mexico Highlands University), Andrew Daire (Virginia Commonwealth University), Jacob Easley (Eastern Connecticut State University), Phyllis Metcalf-Turner (Prairie View A&M University), and Tarrell Awe Agahe Portman (Winona State University). AACTE was a national partner of the Holmes Partnership from its inception. Learn more about the early years of the Holmes Scholars in this article.

Beginning in June 2001, AACTE and the George Washington University Graduate School of Education and Human Development, and later the University of Nevada at Las Vegas, jointly assumed the management and coordination of the Holmes Scholars Program for the Holmes Partnership. Over the years, AACTE staff has worked closely with the Holmes Scholars Council, an elected body of Scholars representing each region of the United States, as well as with the National Association of Holmes Scholars Alumni (NAHSA) in the preparation of an annual conference and job fair. Scholars' evaluations of the program have consistently shown that its most valuable aspects are the networking and professional development opportunities offered during the Annual Meeting and the annual Holmes Scholars Summer Policy Institute.

See what Holmes participants and alumni say about the program