Principals as Transformation Leaders: High-Quality Preservice Preparation

Thursday, November 30, 3:00-4:00 p.m. EST

Today’s effective principal preparation programs are integrating clinical practice with high-quality curriculum that addresses what principals need to know and do. This webinar, the fourth in a series supported by The Wallace Foundation, will discuss how preparation programs are growing and changing to meet the needs of principals in today’s schools.

This free webinar will include time for Q&A. It will also be recorded and archived for future reference. View the recordings of previous webinars in this series here.


Tena Versland, Assistant Professor and Program Leader, Educational Leadership, Montana State University

Versland teaches various courses for principal preparation at Montana State University, including K-12 Instructional Leadership, Supervision of Instruction, and Data and School Improvement. Prior to coming to Montana State in 2012, Tena enjoyed a 30-year career serving rural schools in Montana, 7 years as a K-12 music teacher, 3 years as a high school assistant principal, and 20 years as principal of one of the state’s highest achieving middle schools.

Rebecca L. Nelson, Dean, School of Education, North Park University, Chicago, Illinois

As education dean at North Park University in Chicago, Rebecca Nelson oversees programs that lead to licensure for teachers and principals as well as endorsement programs in ESL, bilingual, and special education. Nelson also serves on the State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board and is president-elect of the Illinois Association for Colleges of Teacher Education, the state chapter of AACTE. Prior to entering higher education, Nelson was a classroom teacher, principal, and superintendent of schools.

Michelle Young, Executive Director, UCEA

Michelle Young leads the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) and is also a professor of educational leadership at the University of Virginia. UCEA is an international consortium of research institutions with master’s and doctoral-level programs in educational leadership and administration. As executive director of UCEA, Young works with universities, practitioners, professional organizations, and state and national leaders to improve the preparation and practice of school and school system leaders and to develop a dynamic base of knowledge on excellence in educational leadership.
She also serves on a number of national policy and academic boards, including the National Policy Board for Educational Administration (NPBEA).


Wendy Fothergill, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Principal Licensure, Colorado State University

Donna Cooner, Professor, Colorado State University


Location: Webinar

Call for Entries: 2019 AACTE Awards

AACTE invites submissions for its 2019 awards!

Submission Deadlines:

  • Outstanding Dissertation Award: August 20, 2018
  • Best Practice and Professional Achievement Awards: October 10, 2018

View Call for Entries Submit Online

Award winners will be honored at the 2019 AACTE Annual Meeting, February 22–24 in Louisville, Kentucky, during the general sessions.

Future Annual Meetings

  • 2019 – February 22-24, Kentucky International Convention Center | Louisville, KY
  • 2020 – February 28 – March 1, Atlanta Marriott Marquis | Atlanta, GA
  • 2021 – February 26-28, Washington State Convention Center | Seattle, WA

Site Selection Procedures

Annual Meeting Site Selection Procedures

AACTE considers many factors in determining its future locations for the Annual Meeting, which brings together over 2,000 individuals in the educator preparation field each year. These factors include but are not limited to geographic and cultural diversity, attendee cost, available meeting space, and social justice considerations.

The following priorities guide Annual Meeting site selection:

  1. Location
    1. Selection of a site 4-5 years in advance.
    2. Rotation among U.S. regions, with at least one western region destination every five years.
    3. Urban destination with accessible airlift, affordable airfare, and local travel infrastructure.
    4. Available dates that coincide with AACTE's preferred time frame of late February or early March.
    5. Favorable antidiscrimination and accessibility policies, including those related to race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, religion, physical ability, health conditions, socioeconomic status, and marital, domestic, or parental status.
    6. Presence of AACTE members in the vicinity of the destination.
  2. Facilities/Space
    1. Adequate amount of meeting rooms, exhibit areas, and other space to meet the Annual Meeting's needs.
    2. Accessibility of facilities/space.
    3. Compact Annual Meeting footprint.
    4. Proximity of hotel partners.
    5. Transportation logistics and cost.
    6. Sizeable block of rooms available at primary hotels.
  3. Cost/Affordability
    1. Guest room rates.
    2. Complimentary facilities or services provided.
    3. Rental rates for facilities.
    4. Food and beverage expenditure requirements.
    5. Labor expenses.
    6. Audio/visual rental costs.
    7. Incentives offered by either the destination or its subsidiary partners.

See What You Missed in 2018

Visit the Learning Center to watch video recordings from previous Annual Meetings. Welcome Sessions and Speaker Spotlight Sessions are public, while other recordings are available only to conference registrants.

Keynote Panel
Opening Session Keynote Panel
Diane Ravitch
Closing by Diane Ravitch
Major Forums
Five Deeper Dives Sessions
70th Annual Meeting Highlights